The Team

The organization is supported by its team of nearly 175 staff and 300 volunteers and docents. From our guest services to finance, to educators and facilities, from development/ marketing, conservation, IT, and grill, to historic and living collections staff, we all work together to reach our mission.

Kurt Strand
Kurt Strand President & CEO
Andy Allison
Andy Allison Vice President of Living Collections & Education
Nate Breitsprecker
Nate Breitsprecker Director of Sales & Guest Services
Jennifer Drayna
Jennifer Drayna Director of Education
Errin Howard
Errin Howard Executive Director of RiverWorks Discovery®
Tommy Lange
Tommy Lange Vice President of Finance & Operations
Paula Neuhaus
Paula Neuhaus Director of Grants
John Oglesby
John Oglesby Director of Facilities
Wendy Scardino
Wendy Scardino Vice President of Development & Marketing
Nathan Smith
Nathan Smith Director of IT & AV
Emma Sundberg
Emma Sundberg Director of Curatorial Services
Vicky Sutter
Vicky Sutter Director of Donor Engagement

2023 Dubuque County Historical Society and National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium Board of Directors

Tom Woodward Chair President & CEO, Woodward Communications, Inc.
Jim Gantz Vice Chair Lime-Rock Springs/Pepsi-Cola Bottling Co. (retired)
Francis A. "Chip" Murray Secretary President & CEO, First Community Trust, N.A.-Investment Services (retired)
Sarah Hasken Treasurer Community Leader
Lori Thielen Past Chair CFO, Rainbo Oil
John M. Bickel Senior VP, Shuttleworth & Ingersoll (retired)
Carol Bitter Purtell Legal Assistant, Bitter Law Firm (retired)
Gina Blasen Community Leader
Tim Butler Vice President, Cottingham & Butler Insurance (retired)

Poppy Conlon Vice President of Business Development, Conlon Construction

Mark Dickson General Manager, John Deere Dubuque Works
Alex Dixon CEO, Q Casino

Ken Furst Partner, RSM (retired)
Teri Goodmann Director of Strategic Partnerships, City of Dubuque
Amy Hawkins Ex-Officio, Superintendent, Dubuque Community Schools
Wendy Knight Founder and Collaborative Strategist, Focus Forward LLC
Tyson Leyendecker President, Capra Bank
Ernestine Moss Community Leader (retired)
Chuck Schrup Co-Chairman of the Board & Chief Development Officer, American Trust & Savings Bank (retired)
Dean Wilgenbusch Market President - Business Banking Team Manager, US Bank
Chad Wolbers President & CEO, UnityPoint Health Finley Hospital

Emeritus Board Members

John Walsh
Paul Woodward

No officers or board members receive any compensation.